7 Nov


first_imgThe New South Wales Touch Association (NSWTA) has announced finalists in all categories for the Annual NSWTA Awards to be held at Bankstown Sports Club on Saturday 21 July 2007.The prestigious awards will be presented at the 2007 Blues Dinner that will also commemorate the 35th Anniversary of the New South Wales Touch Association.The evening will celebrate the achievements of the last twelve months for affiliates, participants, and volunteers of the NSWTA. In a boon for the Blues Dinner, Former elite swimmer and multiple Commonwealth, Olympic, and World championship medallist Elka Graham will be the special guest speaker for the gala evening.The Blues dinner will also pay homage to Southern Suns and NSWTA legend Rod Wise, and bestow Life Membership, and Hall of Fame status to exceptional contributors to the sport in New South Wales. 140 guests have already signaled their intentions to attend the evening that promises to be a memorable occasion for both the foundation members of the NSWTA and the young guns of the sport who will celebrate the rich tradition and history of Australia’s foundation State Association.New South Wales General Manager Dean Russell is excited about the response to the Blues Dinner and is looking forward to a night of celebration and recognition for the many people in the NSWTA fraternity who help to make the sport the success it is across the State.“It should be a fantastic evening. Primarily it’s about recognizing our volunteers and the people who work so hard to make our affiliates and the sport so strong. Elka Graham’s involvement as guest speaker for the evening is tremendous, and the response from members wishing to attend so far has been overwhelming. It will be an historic occasion being the 35th Anniversary, but it will also be lots of fun and a chance for everyone to celebrate a great 12 months for the State,” Mr. Russell said.Tickets for the evening are $45- per person and are available from the NSWTA office.If you wish to attend either please contact Jarrat Wood or Kylie Russell on 1800 640 668.The Blues Dinner will be held in conjunction with the 2007 State Conference that will be conducted from Saturday 21-Sunday 22 July.The conference will be attended by 80 plus delegates from affiliates from all over the State.The State Conference offers theory and practical sessions with up to date strategic and operational tools for Administrators and affiliates, as well as technical arm development in refereeing, selecting, and coaching for affiliated members, as well as the opportunity to network with affiliate representatives and some of the sport’s leading administrators and technical personnel from all over the State.The Conference Program is available by following this link: http://www.nswtouch.com.au/uimages/419.xlsThe Finalists in the Blues Awards for 2006 are:AFFILIATE OF THE YEAR(Will be awarded from one of the six regional winners)Southern Suns:JerrabomberraWaggaMoruyaSydney Rebels:CampbelltownEastern SuburbsUNSWSydney Mets:PenrithLower Blue MountainsBlacktownSydney Scorpions:ManlyParramattaHornsbyHunter Western Hornets:ParkesNewcastle CityWallsendNorthern Eagles:Inverell JuniorsBallinaTamworthREGION OF THE YEARSouthern SunsSydney MetsHunter Western HornetsVOLUNTEER OF THE YEARCathy Moylan- PenrithLuke McKenzie- WaggaLeo Driscoll- The RockADMINSTRATOR OF THE YEARJenny Thomas- Inverell JuniorsAnnette Thomas-Schumacher- JerrabomberraJohn Ryan- Eastern SuburbsLyn Eason- Forster TuncurryCOACH OF THE YEARPeter Forrester- CanterburyWade Jenkins- CanterburyJason Hunt- Eastern SuburbsMick McDonald- Western SuburbsSELECTOR OF THE YEAR(Will be announced on the evening)MALE PLAYER OF THE YEARGarry Sonda- CanterburyDaniel Rushworth- Western SuburbsJoel Willoughby- CanterburyJason Stanton- Western SuburbsFEMALE PLAYER OF THE YEARKristy Judd- Eastern SuburbsAmanda Judd- Eastern SuburbsClare Winchester- CanterburyLouise Winchester- CanterburyJUNIOR MALE PLAYER OF THE YEARDean Springfield- PenrithMaurice Kennedy- HornsbyScott Naughton- YassJUNIOR FEMALE PLAYER OF THE YEARAmy Regal- WollongongNicole Beck- WollongongSophie Broadhead- Goulburnlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *